Manage and Use Client Profiles

Cloud only

Learn how to use the pascom client profiles.

Trainings Video

coming soon

Overview

Client profiles are a powerful tool to link your presence status with actions that allow you to fully manage how and when you receive calls. This way, the pascom client can be customized for any situation with just one mouse click.

Client Profile Overview

  1. For example, if you often switch between your office and home office and want your devices to behave differently when receiving calls in each location.

  2. You only want to be reachable via the pascom mobile app when you are in meetings and only if the matter is urgent.

  3. You do not want to be disturbed at all during coffee breaks and therefore want to sign out of call queues during this time.

These are just a few examples and ideas that can be implemented with Client Profiles.

So how does this work exactly? You have already learned about the presence status in the Profile and contact list tutorial.

Own Presence Status Your presence status visible for all colleagues

The presence status can now be linked to actions via the client settings, meaning that by changing your client profile, it is possible to simultaneously keep your colleagues informed abd also trigger a range of preconfigured actions to control your devices, team members and more.

Actions that are linked to the presence status are stored in profiles and can be activated with a single mouse click.

Profile Settings

  1. The Profile Settings can be found in the Client Settings.

Open Client Settings

  1. In the profile settings you can manage and customise your profiles.

Client Profile system-wide


By default, you will find two system-wide profiles in the profile settings overview, which are predefined for all users.

The two system-wide profiles “Available “ and “Do Not Disturb” cannot be deleted or modified. The action set configured for each profile ensures that either all devices are accessible or deactivated.

Add new profile

To create a new profile click on the button.

Create a new profile

Next, the profile configuration window will appear. You can use this window to add a profile which changes your presence status and link this change to a set of actions that you want to enable/disable each time the profile is enabled/disabled.


configurate profiles

Set presence status

First of all, think about the name of the profile. It is important to know that the profile name is also used to signify your presence status to your colleagues. Therefore, it is important to first determine what you want to say to your colleagues with the profile i.e. “In a meeting”, “On Holiday” or “Working From Home” etc.


  1. Assign profile name.

assign a profile name Assign as profile name e.g. Office, Home Office, Break etc.


  1. Colour, symbol and visibility

Choose an appropriate icon and colour for your profile name. There are a number of icons and colours to choose from, so you should be able to find the most appropriate combination. Additionally, you can decide whether or not you want to make the profile icon visible to your colleagues.

You have complete freedom in when choosing the icon and colour combination. However, it is widely recognised that choosing the colour green for profiles in which you are reachable is generally considered a best practice. On the other hand, for profiles in which you do not want to be disturbed choosing red is the most suitable.

*For example: Your Home Office profile could have the symbol: “House” and the colour “green”. *

Define New Actions

In the following section you define actions which are to be performed when switching to the profile. A profile has two action triggers, each of which can contain its own action chains.

  1. actions that will be executed once the profile has been activated.
  2. actions, which are executed as soon as the profile is exited.

action triggers


The button takes you to the action overview and allows you to define a new action.

Action - Change FollowMe

With the action Change FollowMe, you determine the behavior of your end devices when switching profiles. The FollowMe settings can be applied to “All “ devices, or only to a specific family of devices.


Action FollowMe


Setting Description
Device Family All - applies the FollowMe changes to all devices
Mobile - only applies the FollowMe changes to mobile devices
Softphone - only applies the FollowMe changes to the softphone
Desktop Phones - only applies FollowMe changes to desktop phones
DECT - only applies FollowMe changes to DECT devices.
FollowMe Settings For more info, see the My Device Control guide.

Action - Set GSM mode

With the action Set GSM Mode, you can permanently enable the GSM fallback of your mobile devices.


Action GSM Modus


Setting Description
Activate/deactivate GSM mode for all my mobile phones activate / deactivate

Action - Logging in, logging out and pausing in teams

The following Team Management actions allow you to log in, log out, or pause call queue membership when switching your profiles.

  1. Action - Team-Login

Action Team Login


  1. Action - Team-Logout

Action Team Login


  1. Action - Team Pause

Action Team Pause


  1. Action - End Team Pause

Action Team Pause


Setting Description
All Teams Activate / deactivate (opens dropdown menue)
Dropdown Menu Select a single team for the action

Action - Set or remove location

With the action for locations you can set or remove locations by switching your profile. This makes sense if you use a location with a permanently configured setup in the office and do not need this setup in the home office.

  1. Action - Set Location

Action set workplace


  1. Action - Remove Location

Action no workspace


Setting Description
target location Set a location from the list.

Action - No location, logs you off from the current location.

Chain Actions

In a profile, it is possible to chain several actions together. In this way, profiles can be highly adapted to match your own way of working. In the following example, we create a home office profile that triggers the defined actions one after the other when activated.


Action chain Home Office Profile


What happens when I switch to thise Home Office profile?

  1. First, the user is logged out of his current workspace.
  2. A new workspace is then defined.
  3. Then the FollowMe settings for the softphone are adjusted.
  4. Finally, FollowMe settings for the mobile device are adjusted again so that only internal calls ring through.

You will notice from the example that the actions are performed one after the other. From top to bottom. To influence the hierarchy of actions, use the direction arrows.

Edit, disable and delete actions

You can make changes to your actions, disable them or even delete them at any time.


Client profiles delete action


Changes to Actions can only be made when the Profile is not currently in use.

Edit action
Every action can be adjusted afterwards. Just click on the action itself and you will get back to the configuration mask.


Disable action
You want to test how your action chain behaves when you remove an action? Then you can temporarily disable the action and re-enable it at a later time.


Delete action
You can permanently remove an action by clicking Delete. After deleting, the action cannot be restored.

Edit and delete profile

You can make changes to your profiles or remove them at any time.


Delete pascom Client Profiles


Changes to profiles can only be made when the profile is not currently in use.

Edit profile
Each profile can be adjusted again afterwards. Simply click on the pencil edit symbol and you will be taken back to the action overview.


Delete profile
To remove a profile, click on the trash can icon.
After deletion, the profile cannot be restored.